Proud

February 9, 2010

 

Hungary has brought many things to our lives.

My obvious favourite being…

A recent visit to Vancouver Island brought me to a European Deli where all their meats and sausages are made in-house. I have had the pleasure of trying their Hungarian Salami and their Dutch Smoked Beef in the past.

Check out the Jellied Ox Tongue in the photo below…ewwwe.

This visit they were out of Hungarian Salami so I followed my Dad’s lead and ordered the Hungarian Head Cheese. Some would say ‘ewe’ to that I guess…actually I think I did even. But I went for it. And it was good. It was great actually! The bun was fresh and the fixins were just right!

Ingredients: Hungarian Head Cheese, Cheddar Cheese, Lettuce, Tomato, Onion, Pickle, Mustard and Mayo on a bun.

Well heck, isn’t my face red. According to Wiki:

Head cheese  is not a cheese but a meat jelly made with pieces from the head of a calf or pig (sometimes a sheep or cow) in aspic. It may include meat from the feet, tongue, and heart.

Historically meat jellies were made of the cleaned (all organs removed) head of the animal, which was simmered to produce stock, a peasant food made since the Middle Ages. When cooled, the stock congeals because of the natural gelatin found in the skull.

Mmmm, wow. I guess the only difference between what I ate and the Jellied Ox Tongue, is that mine had the word ‘Hungarian’ in it. Which means it great, obviously.

Leave a Reply

